Elvis Presley The KingElvis Presley Home

'Hot August Night' Limited Edition Vinyl 2-Disc Vinyl Set

By: Elvis Australia
Source: FTD
September 13, 2014
FTD News, Vinyl Records, Elvis News

Email this page.

FTD Vinyl has released 'Hot August Night' as a Limited Edition Vinyl 2-Disc Vinyl Set. Previously release only on CD, this is the first ever issue on vinyl of this concert! From the review of the CD 'Elvis was in fine form on this 'Hot August Night' of the 25th of August 1969, a performance perhaps never to be beaten. For those that only read the summery of reviews, I can be quite clear, this concert is without doubt the best live recording released to-date of Elvis Presley in 1969, and is one of the best concerts Elvis Presley ever performed - both in sound quality and performance! So crystal clear stereo sound and a great performance. Why? I could say, listen to it and you will agree, but I offer you an interesting fact, it was from this concert that RCA chose to use seven [7] of the tracks to make up the original 12 track 'Elvis In Person' album in 1969. This is 58% of the albums tracks. And this is from the good number of concerts recorded of which several have been released on CD by FTD.

FTD 308 (506020-975068) BAR CODE: 5060209750682

Disc 1

'Hot August Night' Limited Edition Vinyl 2-Disc Vinyl Set.

Side A

01 Blue Suede Shoes 2:25 (Carl Perkins)
02 I Got A Woman 2:43 (Ray Charles)
03 All Shook Up 1:54 (Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
04 Monologue 1:14 05 Love Me Tender 2:28 (Vera Matson/Elvis Presley)
06 Jailhouse Rock/Don't Be Cruel 3:05 (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)/(Otis Blackwell/Elvis Presley)
07 Heartbreak Hotel 2:22 (Mae Boren Axton/Tommy Durden/Elvis Presley)

Side B

01 Hound Dog 4:48 (Jerry Leiber/Mike Stoller)
02 I Can't Stop Loving You 2:37 (Don Gibson)
03 My Babe 2:28 (Willie Dixon)
04 Mystery Train/Tiger Man 4:18 (Junior Parker/Sam Phillips)/(Joe Hill Louis/Sam Burns)
05 Baby, What You Want Me To Do 2:05 (Jimmy Reed)

Disc 2

Side C

01 Runaway 2:16 (Max Crook/Del Shannon)
02 Are You Lonesome Tonight? 3:04 (Roy Turk/Lou Handman)
03 Words 2:42 (Robin, Barry and Maurice Gibb)
04 Yesterday/Hey Jude 5:58 (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
05 Introductions 4:35

Side D

01 In The Ghetto 2:48 (Mac Davis)
02 Suspicious Minds 7:20 (Mark James)
03 What'd I Say 3:49( Ray Charles)
04 Can't Help Falling In Love 2:11 (Hugo Peretti/Luigi Creatore/George Weiss)

Recorded live on stage at The International Hotel, Las Vegas, Midnight Show, August 25, 1969


Please Be Advised That The Following Ftd Cd's Are Now Deleted.

Ftd 8 One Night In Vegas
Ftd 19 Dinner At Eight
Ftd 33 Elvis As Recorded Live In Memphis
Ftd 43 Rockin' Across Texas
Ftd 52 Made In Memphis

© Copyright 2018 by For Elvis Fans Only : www.elvis.com.au & www.elvispresley.com.au

Published Link | https://www.elvispresleyftd.com/cd-hot-august-night-limited-edition-vinyl-2-disc-vinyl-set.shtml

No part of any article on this site may be re-printed for public display without permission.

Elvis Presley Video Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD

Tupelo's Own Elvis Presley DVD Video with Sound.

Never before have we seen an Elvis Presley concert from the 1950's with sound. Until Now! The DVD Contains recently discovered unreleased film of Elvis performing 6 songs, including Heartbreak Hotel and Don't Be Cruel, live in Tupelo Mississippi 1956. Included we see a live performance of the elusive Long Tall Sally seen here for the first time ever. + Plus Bonus DVD Audio.

This is an excellent release no fan should be without it.

The 'parade' footage is good to see as it puts you in the right context with color and b&w footage. The interviews of Elvis' Parents are well worth hearing too. The afternoon show footage is wonderful and electrifying : Here is Elvis in his prime rocking and rolling in front of 11.000 people. Highly recommended.